Purge Stuff Challenge

After cleaning my sewing room last night, I have found refreshment and inspiration calling me to my sewing machine. After my daughter and I cleaned her room, she has found a haven free from the reminder of her “burden.” After my son and I cleaned his room, I am enjoying the freedom from grouchiness and he is enjoying the freedom of space and movement.

By cleaning, I am not referring to mere dust removal, but rather the removal of unnecessary stuff. The liberty found in having less stuff has allowed me more creativity and inspiration since I am much less burdened with the day-to-day management of stuff. I want to share this joy.

Matthew 6:19-21 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: (20) But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: (21) For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

The Purge Stuff Challenge is to free you from your burden of too much stuff. The challenge for you is to clean out at least one thing each day, such as a drawer, a box in your closet, a basket, a shelf, a desk top, your purse, and for you daring type, a whole room. The challenge will officially run from Oct. 1 thru Oct. 31, but I’m hoping it will be a habit for us all by the end of the month and we’ll just keep going!

Clean Out means:

  • Throw away garbage.
  • Donate to charity what is still useful to others.
  • Put the rest where it actually belongs.

Purge Stuff Challenge Rules:

  • Comment to this post to be added to the challenge.
  • Clean out one thing each day, 6 days a week, for one month.
  • Post about your progress at least once a week on your blog.
  • Encourage one another.

Home Maintenance Rules:

  • No impulse buying allowed for one month. If you did not plan on purchasing it, do not buy it. The exception to this rule is for items that will be consumed immediately.
  • Do not bring anything into your home that has no place to go. If you don’t know where you are going to put it, it should not come home with you.
  • Your kids have way too many toys already. No new toys for a month, no matter how small or how much they beg.
  • You have way too many toys. No new toys for you either, no matter how much you beg.

Excuses Not Allowed:

  • I received this as a gift.
  • I remember…
  • I used to use this all the time.
  • I’ll fit into this again.

Saving Options:

  • If you have the storage space and would like to save some very special items, place them in a clean storage container and clearly label the container with its contents.
  • If you are saving items as heirlooms for your family, consider whether these items will have value to the recipients. Often the value of an item is actually the memory attached to the item.
  • If you do NOT have storage space, but would like to remember the items, take photos. Place the photo in a journal and write a story about the item.

Participants:

amanda ∞

8 Responses

  1. absolutely me to! fits with shifting house so nicely.

  2. This sounds good. Just this morning, I was discussing cleaning out the garage with my husband. It stresses me to have clutter. My mind can’t relax. So yes, I will join you! I will try to include pictures when I post.

  3. I have no problem with your Home Maintenance Rules as I have started doing that already.

    I like this challenge: it should be very good for me, and everybody. But here I am, still staring blankly at the screen. Can you hear me muttering “Should I, should I? Could I, could I?”

    No pressure. You can participate without participating. That way you have one less thing you have committed to and you are free to do what God leads you to do each day.
    Me, I need the extra motivation this challenge will give. 🙂
    amanda

  4. I am definitely in. We have a two week head start, and I have had to take off a couple days (WHEW!), but it’s a go from here on out.

    Thanks for the sisterhood on this–it certainly helps to know I’m not going it alone. Boy, do I need to purge!

    Let the emptying begin!

  5. Well, I purged the freezer of about 3 inches of ice and some unidentified frozen food. Does that count?

    [Do not bring anything into your home that has no place to go] Uh, do books count?

    The freezer definitely counts! And surely you can find a space for more books. Books are so wonderful. Perhaps you could store them in the newly purged freezer.
    amanda

  6. Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren

  7. […] Art, cooking, creative every day, creativity, gifts, good, habit, purge, stuff, treasures The Purge Stuff Challenge ends tomorrow. I am happy to say that a good habit has been formed. Each day I search for something […]

  8. […] my last challenge, I trained myself to conquer the overload of stuff with the Purge Stuff Challenge. I’d also like to give a big congratulations to those who participated. Scrappy Kea used this […]

Leave a comment