My daughter, the teacher

While I was away at Artfest filling my head with creative things, my daughter became the teacher for the art journaling class at VERONICA’s Voice. She did a wonderful job leading and teaching and guiding.  Here’s the mosaic collage technique she demonstrated that day:

tree-collage She sketched out the tree for placement, then added the color. The paper is from magazines which she tore and placed with a glue stick. Fun!

The art journal class is going well. While we do bring suggestions and techniques to the table, the women are free to do whatever they would like in their journals. I’ve signed up for the Stencilry Class over at Dispatch from LA and am hoping I can share some of what I learn. Fresh ideas are always welcome.

On another note, I just had to share this hilarious card my mom sent me:

symbol-minded-card The inside reads, “You’re my symbol-minded friend…”

Isn’t it hilarious? My grandmother purchased this card sometime in the 60s or 70s. I come from a family that either saved or used everything, so after both my grandparents passed, my mom inherited a box of very charming vintage cards. I am so thrilled to get them in the mail on occasion. They are my absolute favorite.

Our family will be joining with all of my husband’s immediate family this weekend for the Easter Holiday. It has been years since all the siblings and cousins were together at the same time. We are all very excited for the reunion.

And then next week I’m going to share all my wonderful tales from Artfest as well as glimpses of my projects. I’m still on a creative high. Even preparing tax returns could not bring me down.

Have a meaningful and joyful Holiday in celebration of the risen Savior, and in remembrance of the Passover.

amanda ∞

9 Responses

  1. It would be fun if you taught an art journaling class at church sometime!!!

  2. your daughters page is really cool.

    Blessings to you & your family as we celebrate Resurrection Sunday.
    xo

  3. Hey Amanda. I’ve just spent a bit of time reading your blog and just have to tell you that I love your spirit! I too am interested in living as art. I’m so glad I got to meet you at Artfest!

  4. How great for your daughter, I love the tree.

    I hope you had a blessed Easter.

  5. that IS SUCH a great card… i have a few oldies but goodies that i also inherited….
    i hope you had a loverly easter! your right … praise God He is risen.
    apparently your daughter is a talented young lady! she would make a great art teacher! 🙂

  6. I can’t wait to see what you have been creating.

    I hope you had a wonderful time with your family! We spent Saturday afternoon at an egg hunt, got up early, early Sunday morning so that we could attend church with my husband’s family and then had lunch and dinner on the farm.

    David said, “I want to go to the farm every day.”

    Me, “It is too far.”

    David, “No. I like to sleep in the car.”

  7. love the collage…

  8. WHEN I FIRST SAW THIS COLLAGE, SOMETHING TAUGHT ME THAT THE TREE HAS A MEANING. SPECIALLY WHEN IT COMES TO EASTER. I REALLY APPRECIATE HER BEAUTIFUL ART PIECE!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

