Fighting it

It’s that time of year again for me. I’ve been arming myself in the battle against Seasonal Affective Disorder. Although I have not become depressed, I can feel it grabbing my brain and pulling in different directions. It has been difficult for me to focus and get normal activities done. I also feel myself withdrawing from everyday contact with others.

Art Every Day has become a great challenge. I’m glad I knew this going into the month though and have allowed myself permission to ride this wave of disorder. I am celebrating even the tiniest sparks of creativity. These sparks have been a healing balm for me. In the past I would have just fallen to pieces. Now I turn to my art journal, or I make pickles.

Although I’m not commenting much right now, I’ve truly been enjoying the creativity that is going on this month in the blog world with Art Every Day Month, NaNoWriMo, and NaNoBloMo and all the other NaNo***Mo’s. Good stuff.

amanda ∞

« »

11 Responses

  1. fun to look at your journal as a whole, which I just did.
    Do be gentle with yourself in this “season”…do the light bulbs help you? Special light that seems to help some get through the winter keeping the depression at bay?

    Good luck.

  2. The title of this post is very positive, S.A.D. affects many people. As a pharmacist in the land of 2 seasons, “winter” and August…I see a lot of it. I go with Picasso on this one. “Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” Glad you are finding your “sparks” it is a spark that can keep the fire burning girl. Good for you!!

    Thank you so much for your comment on “bee wise”. It did my heart good and I really appreciate the fact you took the time to leave one there. I have felt so much better since posting that and the support validates why. Thanks again, tons of hugs!!

  3. hang in there amanda, i think the art everyday will help you very much. thinking and praying for you. love nita

  4. beautiful pages, amanda! i am effected by S.A.D. as well and AEDM has been helpful for me in the past 6 years in combating some of the tougher parts of the darkening days. keep on being gentle with yourself. you’re doing great!

  5. lovely page! thank you for the encouragement on the quitting smoking (did you quit all at once?) I don’t have S.A.D, but I do struggle with anxiety all the time, and bouts of depression, so I definitely feel your pain-I know for myself, when I am feeling very bad, it’s sometimes hard to even START doing something creative-but when/if I do, it does help so much- well, I will keep you in my prayers and i hope to talk to you again soon (I do know all the great, supportive people I have found online here really helps so much too) I’m going to go work on my tree now (I usually don’t start anything until evening, after work-but I don’t know why??I’m trying to break that habit and do some before I leave too!) hope you have a good day!
    Trish

  6. Amanda, I am sorry you are struggling again. Your art hasn’t suffered. I enjoyed reading your page. BTW, you will always fit in with me! I was considered socially awkward too. I think I do fine in small groups of people who I know are not judging me and accept me unconditionally ~

  7. Why no new page, no new art?

  8. Amanda,
    that is really exciting about the class in January!! I wish I could attend:) it will be a great success, I am sure-we will both do GREAT!! (I am going to try to keep it positive!)
    thanks for the support- and I still haven’t bought any cigs (I CAN NOT do that, not after telling my son how we were going to use that $ to do something fun and all that!) I did bum 3 today-but that’s way better than a pack a day, so…….I’m not giving up take care and hope to talk again soon!
    Trish

  9. I suffer from S.A.D. as well. I always argue with myself as to when I should start using my light. It seems like a simple way to make myself feel better, but it is easy to get too much of that light making me an explosive grump! I keep thinking about retirement somewhere sunny, certainly not in Northern Canada where I am! But retirement is still a ways away 🙂

    Kim

  10. Good description of the feelings of SAD coming on. I’ve also decided to “fight” it this year rather than giving in to it.

    It’s such a pity that NaNoWriMo is at this time of year – I think SAD is why I gave up on it last year when I tried it – I’d fare much better if it was in March!

  11. Hi…I just found you. SAD is a bummer! Winter is my least favorite season. I just checked out your Esty shop…I love your work I am going to check out your blog further…keep arting!

Leave a Reply

