Favorite Supplies

My favorite type of artistic expression is done in altered books or art journals. I move to a canvas on occasion, but have always loved the feel of books and journals and am always drawn back. I also feel very comfortable writing words on my art in a book. Words to me are an important and large part of my creative expression.

The tools I use most frequently for my books and journals include acrylic paints, oil pastels, gel medium, markers, gel pens, pencils, and water colors. My absolute favorite supplies at this point in time are:

  • Set of 48, New ColorsSennelier oil pastels. They are the creamiest, yummiest oil pastels I’ve found. I love their texture. And there are so many wonderful colors available, including my current favorites, iridescent.
  • Acrylic Glazing LiquidGolden Acrylic Glazing Liquid Satin. I’ve read of many artists using acrylic glaze paints, but have found that I love to mix my own colors. I can get the same transparency as the glaze paints by adding the glazing liquid to my acrylic paints. I can soften all those wonderful collage elements with any color glaze I mix. Very fun.
  • Sennelier Fixative. I spray this fixative on my finished pages to keep the oil pastels from rubbing on the opposite page when my books are closed. I learned the need for this the hard way.

One product I wish that I could find would be a pen or marker that writes easily over the top of oil pastels. I typically paint a glaze over most of my oil pastels just so I can add words, but sometimes I’d rather not. I’ve killed several pens writing on oil pastels. If you have a suggestion, PLEASE leave a comment.

One product that I can’t wait to try would be Golden OPEN Acrylics. Check out Regina’s review. They just sound wonderful to work with. This goes on my wish list.

I’ve learned so much from other artists blogs about things to try, what to expect, favorite products, techniques, and good books. So many of you artist bloggers out there have influenced my life. Thank you, thank you!

amanda ∞

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for the referal.
    This was fun reading about your fav products. I have some oil pastels, but haven’t used them for ages. I would rub them over card stock, then blend them out with Turpenoid. After curing a few days, I went back in with rubberstamps. It’s very fun and can be beautiful. I’m not so sure about using it as a journal technique because it really saturates the page. These altered papers could be glued into a journal.
    Blessings!

  2. great post..i love to learn about altered art. one of my hobbies too.
    my birthday is actually in january..it was a mild winter that year.
    xoxo nita
    and thank you for the kind comment..

  3. Thanks for the tips Amanda. I will try them.
    Hugs
    Patti

  4. i am getting the OPEN ACRYLICS soon in the mail! i will let you know too whats up with them…. i’m exctied to try them out.
    and i need to find a good fixative like that… i thnk the one i have is just for drawings…. 🙂
    awsome post amanda! your an inspiration to me…

    I can’t wait to hear how you like the open acrylics. I think my mom is getting them for me for Christmas…so far away. 🙂
    amanda

  5. I LOVE Sennelier oil pastels! Holbein ones are nice too, but Sennelier are my favorites. And yes, I would love to know if there’s anything that can write over the top of oil pastels. Working with them is one of my favorite things, but it makes art journaling much more difficult!

    Well if you ever find the answer to journaling on oil pastels, please share. Until then, I’ll keep killing pens. 🙂
    amanda

Leave a Reply

