Balance again

Balance is a continuous theme in my life. Probably because life is not stagnant. I love change, but always have a difficult time finding the new balance in change.

I had a rough summer. My husband was gone for long periods for much of his work. My empathy for single mothers rose significantly. As I balanced life without his presence, my weakness and inadequacies became very evident. This is not all bad as I drew closer and much more dependent on God’s Word and my prayer life took on a new level.

Now another change is approaching. We will begin school on Monday. This week has been one of preparation and planning so we can start fresh. A recurring theme is presenting itself, one I face each year. How do I stay involved, interested, enthused throughout the WHOLE school year? How can I be a better teacher for my children?

This past year God has directed me to rest from many extra activities like leading our homeschool group and Keepers of the Faith club. He took me on a journey of creativity. I have found that I am able to bear a much heavier load or work through issues in my creative time. It is important for me to incorporate this into my school year so that I am able to stay fresh and charged up as teacher, mom, wife….

When my children were younger, we used a family schedule so as not to waste our time and to free me from directing my childrens’ every moment. The schedule allowed us all greater independence. The last couple years we have not used a schedule, but we are going to implement one again. This will allow each of us to accomplish our specific priorities that get set aside when we don’t plan. Mine would be time in my art studio, my daughter’s would be cooking and creative time, and my son’s would be playing games and writing comic books. What led me back to scheduling? My children took the initiative this summer and each created their own schedule so that they wouldn’t waste away their time. Often the teacher is the student.

Besides scheduling our priorities, God has made it evident that my year of rest is over. He has led me to help on Sunday mornings with the elementary art class, and the kids and I will begin volunteering at the Kansas City Urban Youth Center once a week when the public school year begins. Although I will have a time to get acclimated, I am hoping to introduce art journaling to the kids there.

God always accomplishes His plan. In my life He used this very difficult summer to make me even more dependent upon Him. This year I’m allowing Him to work out the balance and direct my “schedule” more so than ever before. Although change is afoot, I am at peace because I’m not trying to juggle it all. With God, balancing has become much less wobbly.

amanda ∞

4 Responses

  1. Hi Amanda,
    I’m so glad to see you back to blogging again. I’m looking to forward to seeing what shows up in your art work after the break. It sounds like you’ve had a lot of time to dig into your thoughts and relationship with our Father while you suffered being apart from your husband.
    Blessings to you.

    Thanks, Regina. It feels good to be back after a greatly needed break.
    I’ve been enjoying your blog and the creations you’ve shared. That rooster is sooo beautiful. 🙂
    amanda

  2. Hi Amanda,

    I’m glad I found your site, as I really enjoy it. I pray that God will work something beautiful in you during the coming year and beyond. You can be sure that He will.

    Thank you for the ring. I just received it today and LOVE it!! And, thank you too for your beautiful note and exquisite art. I will treasure them both, always. Thank you for your thoughtfulness.

    Monica

    I’m so glad you liked the ring. It truly was my favorite.
    I look forward to enjoying your blog, a new one on my feed reader.
    Blessings to you.
    amanda

  3. Amanda, You have taught me to focus on finding balance too. I am glad you are honest with your journey.

    We are starting school on Monday too. Marissa is not too happy about it. The public schools don’t start until September 2. But, our home runs better when there is structure and a school day provides that. Besides, I have two extra kids to work into the mix and I don’t know that the transition will be a smooth as it once was.

    I’m sure you have a grand adventure on your hands this year. I know what you mean about the home running better with the structure. We have experienced that too.
    amanda

  4. This is what I miss this summer. (a new post)

    It’s funny, I could be busy cleaning the bathroom, then this thought would come to me: “I wonder how Amanda is doing…”

    Glad to hear what God is doing over there. Aren’t you glad we don’t have to figure it all out ourselves?

Leave a Reply

