Worry

The topic for Illustration Friday this past week was Worry. I wasn’t inspired until last night, and wasn’t finished until tonight. Can you tell the acrylic gel is still drying? I wanted to get this posted BEFORE Friday and a new theme.

This piece came from my childhood memories of the planting and harvesting seasons and all the weather in between on our western Kansas wheat farm. The crop was dependent upon the weather, the moisture in the ground, the rain or lack of rain, the snow, the spring freeze, the hail storms. Any alteration of the weather could make or break the crop for the year. The storms in western Kansas can be quite erratic. Until the harvest was complete, there was always WORRY.

The wheat I used on this piece is actually from my dad’s crop last year. Harvest of hard red winter wheat will be late June this year. My oldest brother is farming the land now with my dad’s help. Dad is supposed to be retired, but does a farmer ever really retire?

amanda ∞

6 Responses

  1. Hi Amanda- seems we have much in common. Just got my IF in tonight – but I’ve had my idea since last Sat… Just couldn’t get to my illo due to all that is going on.
    I was at the home farm this weekend that my little brother now owns & works. Never thought of working some of the corn, soybeans or oats into my art. You’ve come up with a creative way to express a big part of farm life when we are so dependant on good weather for successful crops.
    Blessings to you.

  2. I Like it, Mom!

    -Axle

    Tanks, boy-child.

  3. Thanks for coming by my blog and leaving a note of encouragement. It is good to know that God has a plan, even if I can’t see it and it wasn’t the one I had. 🙂

    You’re painting is lovely. I love mixed media. 🙂

  4. Maybe judging from your post, you should have done a picture of you thinking about getting your project done!
    Luv from Fayettville,
    your hubby

    What? Me no worry.
    Alfred E Neuman

  5. Excellent concept Amanda. The best art is art that is personal. I hope you didn’t spend any time watching your paint dry…(chuckle).

  6. All of the fields look like this right now. I asked David if he liked your artwork. He said, “Oui, oui!”

Leave a Reply

