Contentment

This page in my altered hymnal has a theme of contentment prompted by the latest challenge at Salt.

The words around the edge read: Paul says “for I have learned in whatsoever state I am, to be content.” I desire to be this way all the time, but sometimes contentment eludes me. Then I find it again.

Also the imagery is related to Matthew 6:26: Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

This verse is a great reminder to me that God will take care of my needs, and my response should be contentment and gratefulness for this care, not worry or greed.

amanda ∞

12 Responses

  1. >>”This verse is a great reminder to me that God will take care of my needs, and my response should be contentment and gratefulness for this care, not worry or greed.”

    Wow. So true, yet easy to miss…

    I am really drawn to the colors you used here!

  2. Btw, I just responded to your Sigg question on my blog:)

  3. Great work! Thanks so much for joining in 🙂

  4. A thoughtful response to this challenge, beautifully done – thanks for this

  5. what reassuring verses! great work love the addition of the birds in the nest!

  6. Amanda,
    I love this. Such beautiful work. Have a blessed week. Love, Tami

  7. Amanda,

    This is totally amazing… so… so beautiful! I love your sentiments too, Great job! Heather

  8. I love this Amanda, the painting and the words. You are amazing!
    Hugs
    Patti

  9. This is gorgeous!

  10. Amen to the verses! This is a lovely piece, thank you for joining in.

  11. Thank you all for your kind comments. Your words are an encouragement and affirmation to me.
    amanda

  12. This altered book spread is SO wonderful, everything about it just Lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

