smorzando e slentando

One of my favorite songs to play on the piano is Chopin’s Prelude Op. 28, No. 15. Towards the end of the song, right before the last forte, I am instructed to smorzando e slentando. I just love the sound of these words. They mean: dying away and becoming slower.

I want to live life like this song. It is passionate and unyeilding, tender and strong, yet there is a pattern, a note, throughout the whole song which ties it all together. As I age, I am sure I’ll be dying away and becoming slower, but I will have one last forte before my pianissimo. And I will sustain that last note until I’m sure all can feel its quiet passion.

Valentina Igoshina playing Chopin’s Prelude Op. 28, No. 15:

amanda ∞

7 Responses

  1. Beautiful ~ I played this while I was getting ready to go to dinner at my aunt and uncle’s home. They returned about a week too early from their first snowbird trip to Arizona.

    I would like to be somewhere warm today. It snowed here in the Midwest. And Wednesday it will be 70 degrees. Spring is here.
    Glad you enjoyed the song. I just love it.
    amanda

  2. Beautiful music. Another beautiful post.

  3. oh amanda! this was is just so well written… beautiful music as well… thank you so much for writing this…

    And now I’ll sing… Happy Birthday to youuuuuu
    amanda

  4. Beautiful Amanda

    Thanks for the comment on my anniversary post. I am glad our paths have crossed also.

    Is it your birthday? I see a happy birthday wish among the comments here.

    If it is HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    Hugs
    Patti

    Not mine, but Blended Colors. I celebrated anyway. 🙂
    amanda

  5. Thanks for your nice comments on my blog, Amanda!

    Love,
    Wyanne

  6. Beautiful, you’re first when I google “slentando” – thanks for the music, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

