Inspiring Christian Women

The latest Salt challenge is “Women of Faith.” My daughter and I took a class this weekend to learn how to solder jewelry. We both loved it. I see many fun creations in our future. This bracelet was inspired by a very special Christian woman in my life, my mom. She’s been the church organist since I’ve been alive. Her life is much like the hymns that she plays weekly, so I just had to use pages from a hymnal in the bracelet.

Hymnal words and mosaic tile.

Hymnal words and portion of a hymn.

My soldering is quite lumpy, far from refined, but I definitely want to make more. Practice makes perfect. πŸ™‚

amanda ∞

13 Responses

  1. In my life before children, I was a jewelry designer and amateur bench jeweler. From time to time I dabble in it. That is so wonderful to see you learning about jewelry making. I just love it. Have a blessed day. In God’s Love, Tami

    You are such the artist. Did you ever solder? It is so fun.
    amanda

  2. Oh that is beautiful!! What a fun mother & daughter time and projects!!

  3. Amanda,
    Yup, I soldered. Mostly gold rings and such. I loved it. When I was designing, I carved my own designs in wax and then had them cast. This was my favorite. Blessings, Tami

    You are so full of wonderful surprises. I hope that one day you show some of them.
    amanda

  4. I really love it! I want to learn to do this. I just bought some jewelry making supplies tonight, isn’t that funny?
    Our minds are running in the same area.
    I hope you are doing well. love nita

    Wouldn’t it be fun to make jewelry together? If only blogging brought us physically close as well.
    Please post what you make!
    amanda

  5. Amanda, I am so glad you and your daughter were able to create a memory. I love this piece of jewelry…

    and don’t tell my mom, but it is her Mother’s Day gift. πŸ™‚
    amanda

  6. This is absolutely beautiful. Thanks for joining in the Salt challenge.

  7. What a beautiful bracelet and how delightful that you and your daughter were able to discover a new craft together. Soldering – way too much fun. πŸ™‚

    It was fun, Kiva. Both of us enjoyed it so much. We plan on getting the soldering gun and supplies and making gifts throughout the year. I really loved that we found another creative thing to do together.
    amanda

  8. Gorgeous piece, thank you for joining in.

  9. I love the idea of wearing such wonderful words in the form of a bracelet! Gorgeous!

  10. oh i love love love this bracelet… i wish i could take a class like that over here somwhere… one of the things that makes me miss the states even more….

  11. […] Jump to Comments After our soldering class, we purchased a soldering iron and began having fun at […]

  12. Love this bracelet. I too am a wannabe jewelry maker. I want to take classes but there are none near here that are affordable. Does anyone know a source online?

    YOur faith and inspiration of our LOrd shining through your jewelry is wonderful.

    God bless and keep you writing and creating: it’s Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

