Life Collage

The ecology teaching went great on Thursday. We made a craft without purchasing supplies using the ornament idea from Bella Dia.

Lazer tag was extremely fun last night. My birthday girl was high score shooter for 2 of the 3 games we played.

And a very fun discovery was made this morning during my son’s Christmas Program rehearsal. A dear friend and I went to an inconspicuous used book store in Raytown, MO. What a great selection of books! I purchased this 1880 spelling book, and now the question is: Do I cut it up and use it in my artwork, or do I scan and retain the book? The texture and color of the pages is so inviting to my scissors, but can I really cut up a book that old?



Also, my friend, Nita, has a new blog, Blue Mermaid Cafe. Today she poses a great question worthy of a response by all: What is your dream? What burns a hole in your chest at night when you think of it?

We will be home bound for the rest of the day. The forecast is freezing rain. Perhaps I’ll actually get a little Christmas decorating done. Perhaps.

amanda ∞

4 Responses

  1. Amanda,
    I *LOVE* old books. Yours is just beautiful. Blessings, Tami

  2. I love your blog. What interesting things you have on there.
    I hope you don’t mind if I add your link to my blog.
    I will be following you.
    Thanks again for the comment on Pearl Harbor and my Father.
    Patti

    I’d be honored to be added to your blogroll. 🙂
    amanda

  3. Amada, I would scan it. It may be worth something. But if it is falling apart I would cut it up and use it. Thanks for mentioning my new site. I have to find a way to download your link so people can visit it. I think it is because it is word press. xoxo Nita

  4. I love the look and smell of old books. When I hold one I feel as if I have a treasure. Beautiful! If you decide to use the book for art, I would scan the contents first…

Leave a Reply

