A precious gift

The Wednesday before Thanksgiving, my family was busy packing for a visit to my inlaws. My daughter was finishing up last minute baking as I folded the last of the laundry. The phone rang. The dearest, most precious person called me. She hadn’t read about my latest bout of depression. She just felt compelled to call that day. She was spreading a blessing. I was serenaded with a sweet southern voice. The song she choose: Maker of the Home.

Little maker of the home,

What do you really do?

When it all is said and done,

what will be said of you?

You rise each day and like the sun

you give your life away,

and tired, you’ve run the course again,

You need to hear Him say

 

Well done,

Oh, maker of the home

Well done,

You labor not alone

And though your eyes may never see,

This home you live to make,

you make for Me

 

Your life a shadow seems,

compared to what the others do,

but who would catch the tears,

and point to Me,

if not for you?

And when they’ve grown,

imprinted on their hearts will always be,

how good, how right, to give their lives,

and build a home for Me.

Her phone call impacted me greatly. Although I had already started feeling less depressed, this call filled me with such deep joy. Music has such an impact, especially when it is heart-felt.

I was so greatly moved and now give a charge to all. If God compells you to do something, be obedient. Even if you never learn of the impact you have made, be sure that God has a plan.

John 15:12-17 This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. (13) Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. (14) Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. (15) Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you. (16) Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. (17) These things I command you, that ye love one another.

Thank you all for your comments. I truly felt surrounded with your prayers and care. Your words helped me to see light again.

amanda ∞

7 Responses

  1. God uses people in our life to love us when we need it the most. I am glad you found it and continue to be guided through this difficult time.

    I haven’t read your story but don’t ever be afraid to ask for help, even professional, when needed. I have seem so many Christians not get the help they need and it’s a shame as God equipe doctors to help us see and doctors to help our mind.

    Many Blessings,
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha (S)

    Thanks for your response, Debbie. I am realizing that help is good. I used to try to just bear it and continue to function. It has helped so much just to talk about it with my family. They are much more supportive when they understand what’s going on.
    amanda

  2. Amanda,
    That is the sweetest thing. I am going to write down those precious lyrics in my journal. I am so glad you were lifted up. The most amazing miracles unfold before us when we simply obey Him. Love to you my friend, Tami

  3. I am leaving you a quote dear Amanda, this touched my soul and I thought you might like it too.

    You need chaos in your soul to give birth to a dancing star.
    Nietzsche

  4. Hey,
    I’ve been MIA and not intentionally. Perhaps we have even more yet in common. I’ll have to think about the patterns in my life and see if SAD is something that plagues me, too.

    I’ve missed your blog, since I’ve been away so long. I hope I’ll be back soon. Sorry I haven’t been there for you.

    I’m up too late and need to sleep now.

    Goodnight.

  5. [how good, how right, to give their lives, and build a home for Me.] Reminded me of a quote by Mariam Wright Edelman, “Service is the rent we pay for living.” I am not sure of how the rest of the quote goes, but I think it is, “It is the very reason we exist.”

    Lovely phone call! You have the coolest friends…

    I do have the coolest friends, you included.
    amanda

  6. You are too kind! The joy was mine in hearing YOUR voice! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~who will sing it to ANYBODY~but NOT because I have the best voice….

    And that would be a matter of opinion.
    amanda

  7. That is so sweet!! What a blessing indeed and great that she heeded the Lord’s prodding. Glad you are feeling better, blessings!!

Leave a Reply

