An excellent week it was

Two important events occurred this past week.

On Saturday, the VERONICA’s Voice Courage to Change Walk took place. There was a good turnout for the first annual walk. As this was a learning year, I forsee each additional walk growing in awareness and size. A vigil took place after the walk in which survivors of sexual exploitation shared through poetic style the lives of violence and trauma they have been rescued from. The emphasis was on casting no more stones. It was quite beautiful and moving, and yes, I cried.

In addition to this event, my church celebrated with it’s annual Summit conference. The theme this year was Go! Before the Lord…Beyond Yourself…To the Ends of the Earth! What an inspiring and moving event. I was so blessed to hear the stories of several missionaries and my favorite global visionary.

One of the things I love most about my church is that it focuses on reaching and equipping others (discipleship) rather than focusing on self. The focus is Godward rather than inward. This thought was reinforced during the Summit as one speaker emphasized going before you’re fixed. God will take care of you as you go. If you wait to go until you are ready, you will never go. I also appreciate the emphasis on going from wherever God may have you right now. This gave each person a starting point, the here and now.

And just where are we supposed to go? “Going” is in reference to being obedient to God’s command:

Matthew 28:18-20 And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. (19) Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: (20) Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

Dr. Jeff Adams gave a most stirring call to Go last night. His words were confirmation that I am where God wants me to be, and that I need to follow God’s lead in reaching out as I live here.

And as always, God is faithful to give me opportunity. Last night, on the way home from the Summit, just two blocks from my house was a prostituted woman new to my neighborhood. I was able to stop and talk to her. I gave her info about VERONICA’s Voice, but most importantly let her know that she was important, that she was loved, and that I would not stop praying for her. Little does she know that when God lays someone on my heart, He is already on the move. She is in for a change.

amanda ∞

One Response

  1. You’ve got the idea! While some go to remote places in Central Asia, someone has to go across the street to give hope and dignity to a prostitute. Thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

