Liberty in Homeschooling

When I became a Christian, I think the most overwhelming thing was the vast and extreme love I received from my Maker. I was amazed by this love. Since that time I am repeatedly in awe of the liberty I have in Christ to be who He created me to be with no pressure to conform to others’ values and appearances.

Liberty is defined as freedom from restraint, in a general sense, and applicable to the body, or to the will or mind. The body is at liberty, when not confined; the will or mind is at liberty, when not checked or controlled. A man enjoys liberty, when no physical force operates to restrain his actions or volitions.

As a Christian and a homeschooler, I am free not to follow suggested guidelines, not to test my children, not to worry about whether my children know what they are supposed to know at every given point. I am free not to worry, not to rush, not to compare my children with each other or with other children. I am free to raise my children differently than how I was raised without calling my parents’ way wrong. I am also free not to judge other homeschooling families that do things differently than our family. I am free not to judge families that choose not to homeschool at all. Can I just say that this freedom is quite freeing.

So what do I do with this freedom? I love. I seek God’s direction. I care less about academics and more about the hearts of my children. I give up my agenda when I see God leading us elsewhere. I prioritize and say no to good things when they are “too much.” I move and change.

As we come together to support one another this year, let me remind you all that you are free too. I encourage you to seek God in all things and He will guide your family’s academics, extra-curricular activities, relationships, and your daily adventures. I challenge you not to be discouraged in setbacks to your schedule. Seek God in discouraging moments as well. What is He trying to tell you? And above all remember that you are unique, as is your family. Seek God in how to best teach and reach your family. And do it all in the love of our precious Savior. We are free indeed.
amanda~

Leave a Reply

