Liberty in Christ

Freedom is a strange creature. It comes from having total trust that something is true. When I finally believed that the Bible was all true and trustworthy, I no longer had to figure out what in my life was true or right or wrong. I no longer had any license to judge others, or care about what was thought of me.

I have a basis for all truth, and according to the Bible, having my heart right with God is the issue, not my outward appearance (hence the freedom to pierce my nose). I no longer have to fit any mold. I no longer have to care how crazy someone might think I am for believing what I do. I was freed from my search of finding someone who understood me. I am no longer bound by societal rules. I am no longer bound by my family’s hang ups. I am free from self. I am free from all things. I am free to totally and completely rely on God and His wisdom. I am free from worry. I am free to make mistakes. I am free to grow and expand. I am finally free to love.

The great promise that I fully trust and know, that has given me this freedom is that God loves me, personally. He loves who I am, no matter how weird others might think I am. He has created me with specific gifts and talents that are unique to me, and he wants me to use who he created me to be to bless other people. I am at peace and free because God has made me this way for a purpose and He loves me passionately. I know this because the Bible says so, and He has experientially shown this to be true over and over again. 

I used to think that the Bible was full of rules and I wasn’t willing to follow all that was in there. I wanted to be free from the rules. But actually the only “rules” God has are to love Him with every part of me, and to love everyone He puts in my path.

What I found to be true was that I can trust God. He does know what is best for me and He will lead me in every detail of my life. I am free to do what I want and have found that following the path He has laid out specifically for me is unbelievably rich and beautiful.

Liberty is defined as: freedom from restraint, in a general sense, and applicable to the body, or to the will or mind. The body is at liberty, when not confined; the will or mind is at liberty, when not checked or controlled. A man enjoys liberty, when no physical force operates to restrain his actions or volitions.

Misty Edwards says in one of her songs (speaking of freedom): How far will you let me go? How abandoned will you let me be

That in essence is how I feel because I keep testing the “bounds” of my freedom and find myself stepping farther and farther away from where I once was. I am moving to a better place, and it is much roomier. And with this freedom comes a larger and larger capacity to love.

For more information about Misty Edwards and her music, go here. To purchase a CD, go here.

amanda~

Leave a comment